Home > Posts > Education > Stages and Steps of Learning Process

Stages and Steps of Learning Process

Learning is an essential thing in everyone’s life. It helps everyone enhance and acquire skills, and to change the professional life of the best, so let’s through this article tackle and discuss in detail Stages and Steps of Learning Process.

Learning Process

The learning process has often become more difficult than necessary because of the bad feelings people get when they make mistakes in learning. The bad feelings come from judgments like, “not doing it right,” “not good enough,” “can never learn this,” etc.

Ironically, not doing it right and making mistakes are vital steps in the learning process. Yet too often our attention goes to trying to avoid the bad feelings, rather than to the learning at hand. Understanding the stages of learning a skill can help keep the learning process that focuses on learning to do something, and not feeling bad about ourselves for not already knowing how.

Stages and Steps of Learning Process

1- Unconscious Incompetence

This is the stage of blissful ignorance. It is the first stage. We do not know what we do not know.

In this stage:

Our Confidence exceeds our ability
We have little experience or skill
We are unaware of a deficiency in the subject/skill
We must become conscious of our incompetence before learning can begin and the new skill developed.

2-Conscious Incompetence

The next stage is conscious incompetence. Our minds are now aware of the fact that we are at the beginning of a long learning curve. It is this stage that brings up feelings of weakness and inadequacy, feelings that our egos would like to avoid. This stage of learning requires commitment, a personal decision to follow through.

While you may have experienced a burst of excitement and enthusiasm when you began stage 1, that initial energy tends to dissipate in stage 2. And this is where many of us bail out of the development process. This step requires self-compassion, discipline (the cultivation of will), and hard work.

3- Conscious Competence

We achieve ‘conscious competence’ in a skill when we can perform it consistently at will. We can perform the skill, but it takes attention and concentration. This is a stage where many choose to remain. However, true mastery is not attained until the fourth stage of learning.

In this stage:

-Our confidence increases with our ability
-We need to concentrate and think in order to perform the skill
-We can perform the skill without assistance
-We realize how much they have learned

4-Unconscious Competence

The real magic occurs at this final stage of chemical transformation. From total darkness, awkwardness, discomfort, and frustration experienced in stages 1 and 2, through the herculean efforts of consistent practice in stage 3, emerges a new level of being.

With unconscious competence, a conscious focus is no longer needed to perform a skill effortlessly. This automatic response allows us to enter an absorbed, thoughtless state, often called being “in the zone” or “in the flow.” We witness it in great athletes, musicians, orators, and anyone who walks the path of self-mastery.

error: Content is protected !!
Vapulus Blog
Left Menu Icon